Wanderlust.

April 9, 2012

My sister-in-law Sooji just sent me this neat .GIF file (sorry, I don’t know why it’s not working. Click the picture for the full effect) that she made of a couple pictures she took of us when we went on a day trip to SF while we were all up in Norcal last weekend. I don’t know why, but I really like it. Just us, holding hands, walking down the streets of San Francisco together. It’s so rare when we can just walk holding hands like that now–what with one of us always holding Ollie or pushing the stroller or holding a gazillion other things–so I just really love that she captured that moment.

It was so nice to be able to go to San Francisco with my brother & SIL, even if it was just for a few hours. That was the first time I left Ollie alone with someone that wasn’t Steven for that long during the day. Seems silly, since he’s almost ten months old, but I was just always wary about leaving him while I was nursing since he never took a bottle very well. He did perfectly fine with my parents, of course. We also left him with Ryan & Cindy when we went to my cousin’s wedding–the first time I ever had anyone else besides me or Steven put him down to bed for the night. He also did perfectly fine with them, of course. (I like to think it’s cause Cindy looks so much like me. ;) Haha! Just kidding.)

Anyhoots, those two things were kind of mini-milestones for me. Weaning has opened up a whole new world of possibilities and freedoms for me. On Sunday I hung out in LA with some girlfriends for a friend’s birthday for over 10 hours(!!!!). So nice. Now that I have this newfound freedom, I’m feeling all kinds of wanderlust & just wanting to get away for a little bit. Steven & I are hoping to take a bigger trip, just the two of us, maybe later this year. But even before that, I think it’d be so nice to just go away for a short weekend. Go shopping & actually take my time trying on clothes, walk down random streets & walk into boutiques, go thrifting, eat anywhere we want whenever we want, watch a movie in theaters… my mind is almost exploding at all the possibilities. Oh, the possibilities!

I love the idea of spending some quality time with just the hubs, but I also think it’d be so fun to go on a family trip together too. Ollie is older now, more flexible & less limited by his schedule. I would love to go to Seattle or Portland together, or even with another family & rent a house for a few days. Anyone, anyone? We’re going to Palm Springs next month with Joan & Dale, and though I feel a teensy nervous about it, I’m also really excited to just have a change of scenery & be able to relax together.

Sorry, this post is so random. I’m just feeling excited, is all!

