Halfway There.

January 27, 2011


Just passed my 20 week mark earlier this week, and I can’t believe I’m halfway there. Less than five months to go!

I am loving this stage of pregnancy. I started feeling the baby a lot more distinctly on January 1st of this year, and I think that has helped a lot to relieve any anxiety I had & to even help me start planning more. I guess for the first 16 weeks or so, I just didn’t want to think too far ahead, in case something did go wrong. We did not talk about names, the nursery, baby registries, or anything like that.

Now we have three names in mind–all of them very unique & different. I am constantly wanting to decide on one, whereas Steven is wanting to let it simmer. Very typical of us.

We got our 19 week ultrasound last week & found out that it’s a boy! I am super happy & not too surprised, because I had a feeling it was a boy. I love baby boys & think they are so much fun in the early stages! I have been collecting some outfits here & there, and on Tuesday, I hit the jackpot at my local Goodwill. I even found an adorable Zara zip-up hoodie for $1.99  (I think it’s meant for a girl, but don’t worry, I will make it work)!

The ultrasound itself was amazing. I find myself tearing up every time I see him. It’s crazy how advanced technology is these days that we could see his brain, his organs, his little bones, and all of his little fingers & toes! We even saw him putting his hand up to his mouth, back & forth, back & forth. So precious. I cannot wait to meet him & see him do all these things in real life!

A lot of times I will feel baby kicking & put Steven’s hand on my belly, only to have it stop. Steven says he is shy like his mom. Could very well be true :) After numerous times of me trying to get Steven to feel him move, he finally caught him in action last week around my 19 week mark. It was so precious seeing his reaction & having him talk at my belly with such affection. He’s going to be such a great dad, I know it :)

With my renewed level of energy, I am feeling ultra ambitious these days. Wanting to do all sorts of projects, plan parties, decorate rooms, learn new crafts, go on trips, hang out with people, etc. Next on our list? A road trip up north & back. Sew a baby quilt. And start working on the nursery! If anyone wants to hang out, do crafts, or needs help planning a party, you know who to ask! :)

