Shower for Maria.

April 22, 2010

In March we pulled together a bridal shower for my dearest Oh Maria (soon-to-be Ko Maria, which doesn’t have quite the same ring to it, but it’s a-ok). This journey to marriage has been a looo-ong one for them, so this shower was kind of a big deal… for me, for her, for everyone haha :]

I realized after I moved to Cornerstone that they do showers very differently from Lighthouse. Basic things are still the same… you know, make it cutesy, serve some brunchy type of food, play some games, etc. But 1) Cornerstone generally tends to make showers potluck-style, and 2) Cornerstone hosts showers in homes. What novel ideas! I was a little hesitant bringing up the potluck idea for Maria’s shower (I felt like a slacker bridesmaid), but I’m so glad I did, cause the food came out 100000x better than the norm. There’s no way we could have done it on our own.

Some decorations I put together:


Classic bunting & poms.

Bunches of ranunculus from TJ. Frames thrifted from Goodwill & painted white. And “air mail” notes for everyone to fill out about Maria & Alex.

Kraft paper & washi tape-wrapped favors.

Potluck. Thank you guys so much… and thanks Mimi for the bruschetta! (Aside: Steven & I went to this fancy Italian place last weekend & the waiter pronounced it brus-keta. Is that really the right way to say it? Have I been saying it wrong my whole life??)

Us.

Maria looked so pretty with her wavy hair & frilly apron. And of course her contagious smile :] Love you, Marii-aa!

Eight days and counting. :]

7 Responses to “Shower for Maria.”

  1. tia Says:

    oh maria <3

  2. mimi Says:

    homemaking was a perfect practical themed bridal shower! great job! =)

    and yeah, the waiter is right! bruschetta is really pronounced brus-keta! I think i first heard it said that way on the food network in college. =)

  3. miriam Says:

    so cute!!! i love the decorations!

  4. jules Says:

    Adorable, that shower has cathie written all over it.

  5. susiepyo Says:

    Love the decorations Cathie! Must get craft lessons from you! So many things to learn from you… :)

  6. miriam Says:

    hey there! what’s ur other blog name?

  7. edyip Says:

    I can’t believe you handwrite all those things. It looks so cool. Can’t you make a stamp or something to expedite the process?


Comments are closed.

