Thrifty Find: Houndstooth Jacket.

February 23, 2010

I’ve been wanting to do more vintage/thrift shopping, but haven’t gotten around to all the local thrift stores yet. I googled thrift stores in the area, and a few came up at the Lab in Costa Mesa… conveniently down the street from our place. We’ve been to the Lab a handful of times, but mainly just to go to Urban or Buffalo. So I thought I’d probe more carefully. Unforch, Google’s idea of “thrift” is not really thrift–I was bummed to discover lots of beautiful old things with not-so-old price tags.

However, we made a stop at Buffalo just to see what they had, and I found a sweet 100% wool houndstooth jacket for a great price! It actually came with a hideous matching knee-length dress, but I asked them to separate it, & got it for half the listed price. I still feel a little insecure wearing it–it’s definitely not something I would normally wear. But I’m trying to branch out here & be bold.

So, what do you think… yea or nay?

7 Responses to “Thrifty Find: Houndstooth Jacket.”

  1. Sarah Says:

    yea, yea, a thousand times yea!

  2. Jules Says:

    As someone who is around vintage shoppers (the bro-in-law and sis), I would say you should TOTALLY wear it!

  3. grace Says:

    yay-uh. :)

  4. pamabear Says:

    yay!! its pretty.

  5. Rachel Li Says:

    I think you can totally pull it off. Actually I think you can pull off most things! :)

  6. Rachel Li Says:

    added bonus: it gives you a Sherlock Holmes kind of feel!

  7. jennifer lee Says:

    Very much yay

    And love, love the keys


Comments are closed.

