Going Au Natural.

November 16, 2009

So I finally got my hair cut yesterday. Last time I cut it was in May, right before the wedding. Since then, it has grown grown grown, along with a gajillion split ends and tangles. I would like to take a moment to say how much I loved my hair-cutting experience. It was the first time I didn’t feel like crying after I left the salon. (I know, so drama.) I was referred to Naomi by Joan, who I believe was referred to her by Bee. And Naomi is great. Not only is she very considerate about what I want my hair to look like (unlike many Korean ajumah hair cutters in the past who have butchered my hair without my permission), she is straight up nice. She’s soft-spoken, gentle, amiable, and really sweet. I heart Naomi. I will go to her again. And actually–not that anyone is interested–I almost cut my hair SHORT! It may not be a big deal to you, but I haven’t had short hair since I was in eighth grade. I almost did it, but decided to keep it long for Maria’s wedding in May. Next time. Maybe.

Anyhow, Naomi told me that I should switch to organic shampoo. She said that my hair is really fine for Asian hair, and I should make sure not to use shampoos with too much conditioner in it. Normally I wouldn’t pay any attention to what a hairdresser tells me (because you know they’re always trying to sell you something), but I did. Why? Because 1) Naomi seemed sincere & she really didn’t have a product she was trying to sell me. And 2) I was going to switch over to baking soda shampoo anyway.

I am going green for personal hygiene. A couple months ago, I read an article on simplemom about using all-natural shampoo & conditioner. And shortly after, another article about all-natural face wash. It caught my attention because shampoo, conditioner, and skin care products are all so durn expensive. Tsh from simplemom offered a cheap and healthier alternative: baking soda shampoo & apple cider vinegar conditioner. Sounds nasty, but it’s actually so cool! It’s better for your hair, adds natural moisture but prevents extra oil build-up, gives your hair more body, and you don’t have to wash it everyday. I’ve already switched over to ACV conditioner, which is working out fine for me. As soon as I have another empty squeeze bottle, I’m taking the plunge and switching over to baking soda shampoo. I’m just dreading the extra-oil transition period…

As for the face wash alternative, it’s called the oil cleansing method. You make a  mixture of castor oil & EVOO, rub some on your face, steam out your pores, and wipe the remainder off. The good oils replace the bad oils in your face and prevent your face from producing more nasty oils. Keeps your skin naturally moisturized so you don’t have to use moisturizer. I actually convinced Steven to start doing this with me after he saw good results in my skin muhaha. My oil mixture has 50/50 castor oil to EVOO. Steven’s has 75/25 castor oil to EVOO (his skin is more oily than mine). It’s become our nightly routine–it seriously feels like a relaxing facial every night. (Actually I’ve never had a facial, but it feels like what a facial should feel like.) My skin feels baby soft after I do it… oh how I miss those days. Another plus is that I no longer use makeup remover; the oil works as a natural makeup remover. I also use a lot less moisturizer. And the result? Less oily, more moisturized skin!

Okay, I am done selling the natural hygiene route. Read the articles for yourselves & maybe you can take the plunge with me. Let me know. We can share transition period stories & admire each others’ hair & skin. Whoopeee!

10 Responses to “Going Au Natural.”

  1. Beverly Chan Says:

    ooh! I’m going to try both (skin and hair) and let you know what the results are! thanks for the tips!

  2. Grace Wu Says:

    Things are looking up for my hair! Still not as slick and smooth as shampoo days, but it’s getting there. Perseverance…sigh….

  3. joan Says:

    glad you liked her! she’s good. :) i wanna see your new do. and that’s a convincing argument for going natural … but i want to touch your hair first and feel the spring in your skin!

  4. Jules Says:

    Oh sweet! I too would like to feel your hair and touch your skin! :) My hair has to be washed every day and i would LOVE not to have to do that!

  5. jane Says:

    ever since you sent me those articles i’ve been on the fence about it. but i think it’s time to get some castor oil and try it out — esp. since my skin has been SO dry lately!

  6. Stacy Says:

    hey cathie! i heard about baking soda shampoo and have been thinking about trying it out too! post about how it goes for you so i can see if i should consider it. and your facial regimen sounds great! maybe i will try it outttt!

    ps. i really like your blog. keep posting, cathie:).

  7. aimee.ame.amos.amy Says:

    i like a lot!!!! skin care the au natural way :)

  8. thechungs Says:

    oh, that’s why your hair was so nice and shiny yesterday! ;]

  9. mimi Says:

    hey cathie,
    just read this post & i think i might try out the all natural face wash.
    thanks! =D

  10. Grace Wu Says:

    CATHIE! MY HAIR IS GOOD NOW! It stays clean for about 2.5 days before I need to wash it again. To keep my hair clean in between washes, I rinse it thoroughly in the shower. It’s weird because I can feel the oils coming off my scalp when I run my fingers through my hair when washing.

    It was a 3 week transition period. The first 3 weeks I wanted to give up…I hated having greasy hair everyday, but I see such an improvement now. I started out having dandruff too, and I NEVER get dandruff. But all the dandruff is gone now YAYAYYYAY.


Comments are closed.

