Santa Barbara.

November 2, 2009

So here it is. Our weekend getaway to Santa Barbara. Twas super beautiful… The weather, blue skies. The museums, inspirational. The boutiques, so cute. The cafes, delicious. I loved the old town feel… brick roads all over, small shops, and people riding beach cruisers up and down State Street (including us!). It was a simple weekend with no planned schedule (much like our honeymoon), and perfectly relaxing for our worn bodies & souls.

SB11Our little modern motel, the Presidio. Each room had its own personalized wall design by a local artist. Some of them were creepy, but I requested this one! Cute, huh. Mattresses were two thumbs down, but we looooved this:

IMG_5805Our cute little beach cruisers!! Our motel rented these out for free to their guests. We biked all around downtown SB. It was awesome!! I heart biking (downhill).

IMG_5813

SB01Spent the morning exploring the side streets…

SB02Admiring cute window displays…

IMG_5914Spent a couple hours at SB Museum of Art…

SB04

SB03This cracks me up. Ever since Steve sent me this article when we first started dating, we make a point to practice Tip #7 every time we go to an art museum.

SB05Stopped off for lunch at the Natural Cafe, a small vegan place that had decent food.

IMG_5928Played with funny accessories at an old vintage store. We also learned that vintage is not the same as thrift… :[

IMG_5978But we did find an antique shop where we spent a good hour. Love antiques.

SB07While I ran around taking pictures of anything & everything…

IMG_5982Steve reverted back to his childhood days & dug through boxes and boxes of baseball cards.

SB08That’s pretty much what we did. Lots of walking (Steve took lots of pictures like these…), window-shopping, real shopping, and eating. Things we like to do. :]

IMG_5945Found this itty bitty art gallery & absolutely loved her work. But we weren’t allowed to take photos, so I just took one from the outside looking in.

SB09Dinner at Arigato Sushi. Loved sitting at the sushi bar–got to try recommendations from the top sushi chef. And loved eating sushi, ho ho.

IMG_6069McConnell’s Ice Cream for dessert. Opps was happy.

SB06Walked into a contemporary furniture store. Very cute, but we could never afford it.

SB10This was my fave eatery in SB, Tupelo Junction Cafe. Came highly recommended by Michelle Chung & did not disappoint! I got pumpkin oatmeal waffles, which were absolutely scrumptious. :]

SB12Our fave coffee shop, the French Press. They make all of their coffee by french press–isn’t that cool? Loved the decor & the feel of the place. And the typography on their sign won me over–I basically dragged him in with me. (He loved it too.)

IMG_6213Then we said goodbye to Santa Barbara.

SB16And hello to LA! We heart Korean BBQ. Me possibly more than him.

IMG_6236And one last stop: LACMA. I’d been wanting to go for a loong time, so I was thrilled when he said we could. :]

SB14

SB15I love love loved this exhibit. Don’t know if it’s still there, but you should definitely go if you haven’t! The first piece we saw may be one of my favorite things I’ve seen in an art museum EVER. Unforch, we weren’t allowed to take pictures.

SB13Thought this was so cute. It says “We are happy” in Korean. Sounds cheesy, but made me smile. We tried to get a picture of ourselves with it in the bg, but obviously failed.

The end. We had a great & refreshing time away from everything. We did everything I love (which thankfully, he likes too haha). I love my husband. And I thought the ending of our trip was so appropriate to describe where we are… we are happy. The Lord provides for our every need & is so kind to bless us with the beautiful gift of marriage. So thankful!

8 Responses to “Santa Barbara.”

  1. jane Says:

    so cute, cathie! i love looking at your pics. can you show me how you adjusted your settings? praise God you guys had just the rest and happy times you needed :) makes me want to go on a vacation, too (whenever that is….)

  2. keziahkim Says:

    nice shots! i especially like the nash photo =]

  3. Jules Says:

    Great pics! Looked totally fun!

  4. Moon Choi Says:

    You guys are stinkin’ cute.

    And the pictures look great. :)

  5. amanda Says:

    hi cathie! oh my goodness your pictures are too cute! :D

  6. Anna Says:

    that motel is so cute! renting out bikes to their tenants is a cute idea!

  7. Sue Says:

    This has got to be the cutest post ever from the cutest couple ever. Looks like a travel brochure for SB! So glad you got to rest and be refreshed!

  8. Melanie Says:

    I goodness, I love those beach cruisers. I would stay at a hotel solely for those.


Comments are closed.

