Pioneer Woman

August 8, 2009

So Karean told me about this site awhile back, but I had forgotten about it until recently (when she reminded me). It’s neat. She’s a city girl who married a cowboy and is now raising her family in the country. She blogs, homeschools her kids, decorates her home, cooks some yum food, and learned how to use a DSLR on her own. That’s mainly why I went to her site actually. I got this awesome Canon DSLR as my bachelorette gift from my nearest & dearest girlfriends a week before the wedding:

Canon Rebel XS

Canon Rebel XS

I thought I’d be a quick learner. What’s so hard about photography, right? It’s a form of art. But all this technical business is kind of a headache. Too many buttons and functions… What does ISO do? What’s aperture? Which is how I ended up getting to know the Pioneer Woman. Karean told me that she teaches you how to use a DSLR in laymen’s terms. So I went. Explored a bit. And after a few minutes in the Photography section of her site, somehow ended up in this section.

Eep. The story of how she met her husband. Black Heels to Tractor Wheels: A Love Story. I thought it’d only take an hour, maybe two tops. Yeah right… I spent the last few days spending all of my free time reading this mini-romance novel. I felt like my high school self, addicted to Korean dramas, telling myself I would stop and exercise some self-control… as soon as the series ends.

So, I’d like to introduce you to Ree Drummond (the Pioneer Woman) and Marlboro Man:

Black Heels to Tractor Wheels: A Love Story

Black Heels to Tractor Wheels: A Love Story

Clap clap! FYI, I do not endorse everything they did in their dating relationship. AND I do not believe that love is mere passion. But I’m just saying… if you want to indulge yourself in a little summer fling, feel free to read away. :]

To be fair, however, I did learn a couple things about photography. I now know what bokeh is. And I’m starting to grasp aperture. And now that I’ve gotten her love story out of my system, I can get back to learning some more.

One Response to “Pioneer Woman”

  1. steph Says:

    i picked the worst time to read your blog + ree’s love story. so much for my work day. hahahaha i love it =] so much of it reminds me of my relationship with tim. minus the crazy drama and country-ness of it all.


Comments are closed.

