Because He Loves Me.

March 6, 2009

We started reading this book for small group, and it is quickly becoming one of my favorite books… hopefully one that I will continue to reference and read over and over in the coming years. God has been so kind lately to remind me of the sweetness of the gospel… there is such hope and joy and freedom in the finished work of Christ. How foolish to walk through life weighed down by feelings of despair, discouragement, and inadequacy when He has suffered and sacrificed much to liberate us from those very things. My heart is so full.

Elyse Fitzpatrick gave pages and pages of verses that walk through Jesus’ life. Prophecies about him from the OT, what would be accomplished, his virgin birth, the days leading up to the crucifixion, the failures of his disciples, the people who mocked him and spat on him, the wrath of God poured out on him, his painful death on a cross, and the glory of his resurrection. And the promises laid out in Scripture… because of these things. I’ve decided to meditate on each of these short verses/passages every day, so that the gospel will be fresh to me, so that I might be reminded of what the gospel means for me in my day-to-day pursuit of holiness.

Today was Ephesians 1:3-6. 3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places, 4 even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. In love 5 he predestined us for adoption as sons through Jesus Christ, according to the purpose of his will, 6 to the praise of his glorious grace, with which he has blessed us in the Beloved.

I want to experience the freedom that comes from truly believing the gospel. This is it for me… there is nothing else I need. This is the answer to all things, the cure for my despair, the hope that leads me onward, the strength I need to fight, and the sanctuary in which I find rest for my soul.

